Showing posts from February, 2015

Major proposals for constitutional reform of Sri Lanka, 2015

(Adopted from Lanka E News) The following are the main proposals for constitutional reform under discussion. President The President will be the Head of State, the Head of the Executive and the Commander in Chief of the armed forces. The President shall always, except in the case of the appointment of the Prime Minister or as otherwise required by the Constitution, act on the advice of the Prime Minister or of such other Minister as has been authorized by the Prime Minister. The President may require the Prime Minister and such Minister to reconsider advice given to him and may require Parliament to reconsider a Bill presented to him for assent. He shall act on advice given after reconsideration and shall give assent to a Bill passed after reconsideration. In addition to the powers and duties presently exercised under Article 33, the President shall promote national reconciliation and integration, ensure and facilitate the preservation of religious and ethnic harmo

Finance Intelligence Unit with Indian assistance for Sri Lanka to trace $ 5+ billion swindled by Rajapashas

This news posted in Economic Times section in India Times indicates a highly important move. The  Finance Intelligence Unit (FIU) is more than FIU in political terms. 1. Mahinda swindled money burrowed by Sri Lankan people. China helped him for them. Now India helps President Maithripala to trace them back. 2. Sri Lanka government is moving away from China in regard of political allegiance and getting closer to India. 3. With this move, Sri Lanka is embracing the democratic capitalist principles promoted by Western oriented capitalist nations vis-a-vis the Chinese oriented undemocratic, corrupt and totally inhuman practice of capitalism in the guise of socialism. Following is the report: NEW DELHI: India will help Sri Lanka set up a finance intelligence unit (FIU)-like entity in the island nation at Colombo's request to trace more than $5 billion allegedly stashed overseas by the erstwhile Rajapaksa regime. President Maithripala Sirisena is moving to fulfill el

FYI: New Office Bearers of Federation of University Teachers' Association of Sri Lanka (FUTA)

President. Dr. Prabath Jayasinghe (Colombo) 0718045150 Secretary: Dr. Harini Amarasuriya (OUSL) 0777880737 Treasurer: Dr. Pavithra Kailasapathy (Colombo) 0777956743 Vice Presidents: Dr. U. Anura Kumara (SJP) Dr. Rangika Halwathura (Moratuwa) Dr. S.Arivalzahan (Jaffna) Dr. S. Banneheka (Peradeniya) Mr. Upali Pannilage (Ruhuna). Assistant Secretaries Prof. Devaka Weerakoon (Colombo) Dr. Chaminda Kodotuwakku (Rajarata) Dr. A.W. Wijeratne (Sabaragamuwa) Ex-Officio Mr. Chandraguptha Thenuwara (UVPA) Prof. Rohan Fernando (OUSL) Media Spoeksman Dr. Nirmal Ranjith Devasiri (Colombo) Media Coordinator Dr. Hiniduma Sunil Senevi (Sabaragamuwa) Web/Facebook Administrator Dr. Jinasena Hewage (Ruhuna)